INTO THE RIDE FORUMS
http://intotheride.com/

Dynamik Headset problem
http://intotheride.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=683
Page 1 of 1

Author:  JLovern [ Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Dynamik Headset problem

I've had my Dynamik for a couple of years, and the headset has never worked properly. I implemented the fix given in the video that Randy provided, but still the headset is not tight enough and, after a couple of rides, it's even looser as evidenced by the front fork bucking when I apply the front brakes while going over a few miles per hour. In short, the Richie headset that came with the bike just doesn't work, and the nuts to tighten it don't. Is there another fix (besides the one in the video) that will end this problem once and for all? Thanks for any help.

Author:  iambent [ Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dynamik Headset problem

Is it a threadless or threaded headset?

Author:  JLovern [ Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dynamik Headset problem

Hi John
Thanks for responding. It's threadless. My wife also has a Dynamik, and I believe her headset is threaded. It has no problems at all.

Author:  ransrollin [ Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dynamik Headset problem

It could be the gap on the adjuster sleeve is upside down. It could be the bearings are upside down. If neither of those, you could try adding spacers so the gap between the headset adjuster and the riser is filled.

Author:  iambent [ Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dynamik Headset problem

Could you possibly post a few photos of your headset adjuster?

Author:  jeff_ten [ Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Dynamik Headset problem

Not the best photo - cropped it from a full bike shot. Can't work out what the issue is. If the headset is coming loose than the clamp isn't being down up tight enough I would think.

You can see the clamp sitting tight on the headset, with the adjuster sitting on that, and my bars up an inch or so. The only thing holding the headset pressure is that bottom clamp.

Attachment:
image.jpg
image.jpg [ 47.92 KiB | Viewed 8298 times ]

Author:  JLovern [ Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Dynamik Headset problem

I've fixed the headset problem by ordering and installing the new headset adjuster. The old, two-nut adjuster just didn't work properly. The new, one-nut model works fine. Also, it helped to order a spanner that fit, because standard crescent wrenches are just too thick and mangled the nuts on the old two-nut adjuster.

Page 1 of 1
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/